IT Professionals New Zealand | Te Pou Hangarau Ngaio


Recognising the people making IT happen

The New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards are sector-wide awards recognising the individuals and teams who have truly excelled in our industry. While other awards focus on companies and vendors, the Excellence in IT Awards exclusively celebrates our people.

What makes the Excellence in IT Awards different is that it recognises the real people behind software and information technology - the people that make IT work. The unsung heroes and champions of our sector. 




Sector-wide Awards Collaboration

The Excellence in IT Awards are coordinated by ITP in partnership with a range of IT-related bodies. This is a true collaboration of 11 industry and professional bodies (including ITP):



2021 Award Categories

The following are the categories for the 2021 New Zealand Excellence in IT Awards. The Sector Awards represent excellence in each of six general sector categories and may change each year, with the Supreme Awards being awarded every year.

We don't have a separate Open Source award, but we support the NZ Open Source Awards. Open Source projects are very welcome to enter the software, Govtech, or other categories.

See full details of categories on the Award Categories page.

Sector Awards

  • Project Excellence Award
  • Excellence in Software
  • Excellence in Digital Health
  • Excellence in Govtech
  • Gerard MacManus Award for Excellence in IT Education 
  • Excellence in Inclusion
  • Excellence in People Leadership
  • Excellence in Tech Communications

Supreme Awards

  • Young IT Professional of the Year
  • New Zealand IT Professional of the Year


ITx 2021            Awards

View All 110 ITP Partners